< View all for Adoption

Spot

Cattle Dog / Mixed (short coat)

Details about Spot

  • ID D231401
  • Adoption Fee: $450
  • Breed: Cattle Dog / Mixed (short coat)
  • Gender: Male
  • Coat Length: Short
  • Current Weight: 29.0 lb.
  • Estimated Birthdate: 11/26/2019

Spot's Compatibility Attributes

  • Good with Cats: No
  • Good with Kids: Yes
  • Older/Considerate Children Only: Yes
  • Good with Adults: All
  • Needs Adoptive Home Without Large Dogs: Yes

Spot's Personality and Behavioral Qualities

  • Housetrained/Littertrained: Yes
  • Obedience Trained: Has Basic Training
  • Likes to Vocalize: Some
  • Energy Level: Moderate
  • Cratetrained: Yes
  • Leashtrained: Yes
  • Reaction to New People: Friendly
Other Traits:
    Lap pet, Playful, Affectionate, Eager to Please, Intelligent, Plays with Toys

Hi there, I’m Spot, and I've been told that I am the best boy in all the land – my foster mom's words, not mine. I consistently impress her not only with my intelligence but also with how sweet, cuddly, and mellow I can be, especially considering that my breed can be high-energy.

A bit more about me: I enjoy engaging in cool puzzle games to keep my mind active, plus they usually end with a few treats – hehe!  Other favorite past times are snuggles on the couch right next to my person, some playtime with toys - especially my baby shark which, for some reason, is the only stuffy I have not destroyed.  I really enjoy watching out the window but I tend to get excited and vocal when I see a dog walk by.  In fact, that is my one area I’m working on - better manners when I meet other dogs.  Although I've lived with smaller dogs in the past, I would thrive being the only one getting my people's attention.  When meeting other dogs, I need slow introductions with those my size or smaller but any bigger…not a fan!  Foster mom is working on how I can be calmer in those situations and says I’m making progress!  

I love taking walks and am pretty good on a leash but might pull to get to a person or better yet, all those enticing smells – there's just so much to check out! I am good with the crate and willingly go in, especially when there's a yummy treat involved. While I don’t have much experience with cats or kids, my foster mom thinks I’d do best in a home without cats, based on my interest with bunnies and squirrels. As for kids, I'd probably be fine, especially with older or considerate children, but my foster mom could see my herding instincts kick in with small children.

If you’re looking for an easy-going, affectionate, perfect-size guy let’s meet and I’ll show you just how lovable I am! Click here and Here and here for some fun videos of me!

Spot is from a local impound If you are interested in getting to know this animal better, please fill out an adoption application. An adoption application is the best way to show your interest in an animal and is not a binding contract.

To learn more about Ruff Start’s adoption process and the care our foster animals receive, please visit our How to Adopt page.

If you'd like to donate towards this pet's care, you can donate to our Animal Care Fund. Our Animal Care Fund supports the medical and veterinary needs for all Ruff Start Rescue animals. You'll be able to enter this pet's name on the second page of the donation form.