< View all for Adoption


Poodle (unknown type) / Maltese / Mixed

Details about Jacque

  • ID D221456
  • Adoption Fee: $425
  • Breed: Poodle (unknown type) / Maltese / Mixed
  • Gender: Male
  • Current Weight: 13.0 lb.
  • Estimated Birthdate: 12/26/2016

Jacque's Compatibility Attributes

  • Good with Dogs: Yes
  • Older/Considerate Children Only: Yes
  • Good with Adults: All
  • Needs Companion Animal in Adoptive Home: Yes

Jacque's Personality and Behavioral Qualities

  • Housetrained/Littertrained: No
  • Obedience Trained: Needs Training
  • Likes to Vocalize: Some
  • Energy Level: High
  • Reaction to New People: Cautious
Other Traits:
    Timid, Good in Car, Likes Fetch, Plays with Toys

Jacque is a rescue from an animal cruelty case in Texas. He is one of 50 dogs rescued from terrible conditions.

Hello world, the rescue who saved me named me Jacque but I prefer Charley. Unfortunately, I did not have the best start in life. I was rescued from a hoarding home with many of my brothers and sisters, cousins, aunts, uncles, mom and dad. Who knows really as we all look pretty similar. 

I am about 6 years old and have lived my whole life in the same home with only dog companionship. The humans were not nice so when they came around we would all run which means up I associate humans trying to pick me up as a scary thing. 
Even though I'm past my teen years, I still love to run and play with my puppy friends. In fact I will require a home that has other confident and playful dogs in order for me to slowly learn and understand this whole "humans can be nice" thing and that we go potty outside on a schedule and we are actually fed 2 solid meals a day and I don't have to wonder when my next meal will be. 
I'm still very scared of all new things but the good news is I am curious. I ventured outside this past week, I love love love to be outside. 
My foster mom is taking things slow with me and allowing me to experience all of these new things in life. I am very unsure of human touch and will need a lot of work on that. I really need a family that is looking to allow me to come in and go at my own pace. I have no idea how long it will take me to feel safe and comfortable with human touch. It could be a month or 6 months. I really just need time to adjust with no pressure. A calmer household without a lot of visitors and someone who has some experience with allowing me to come to them when I'm ready. My foster mom thinks I'm worth the wait. 
I know I'm cute and everyone loves poodles and poodle mixes but I'm not a good dog for a first time dog owner.  My perfect home will be  verrrryyyyy  patient, kind and not be looking for an instadog. I'm a work in progress for sure. I still have accidents and I still chew on things I'm not supposed to, I will chase pants legs and try to nip them like I'm a cattle dog and then run away so fast, you'll never catch me. I'm quirky!  I get really excited for treats, I like tennis balls and outside, I like outside a lot!    
Do you have experience with dogs that can be shy/fearful and also flight risks until they feel safe? If so, I would love to meet you. Please fill out an application so my foster mom can reach out.

To learn more about hoarder dogs and cruelty cases, click here.

If you are interested in getting to know this animal better, please fill out an adoption application. An adoption application is the best way to show your interest in an animal and is not a binding contract.

To learn more about Ruff Start’s adoption process and the care our foster animals receive, please visit our How to Adopt page.

If you'd like to donate towards this pet's care, you can donate to our Animal Care Fund . Our Animal Care Fund supports the medical and veterinary needs for all Ruff Start Rescue animals. You'll be able to enter this pet's name on the second page of the donation form.