< View all for Adoption

Yelena

Jack Russell Terrier / Chihuahua / Mixed

Details about Yelena

  • ID D221242
  • Adoption Fee: $425
  • Breed: Jack Russell Terrier / Chihuahua / Mixed
  • Gender: Female
  • Current Weight: 15.0 lb.
  • Estimated Birthdate: 10/29/2019

Yelena's Compatibility Attributes

  • Good with Dogs: Yes
  • Good with Adults: All

Yelena's Personality and Behavioral Qualities

  • Housetrained/Littertrained: No
  • Obedience Trained: Needs Training
  • Likes to Vocalize: Quiet
  • Energy Level: Moderate
  • Cratetrained: Yes
  • Leashtrained: Yes
  • Reaction to New People: Friendly
Other Traits:
    Lap pet, Affectionate, Eager to Please, Even-tempered, Gentle, Good in Car,

Hey bestie! I’m Yelena (or Yaya, as my foster mom calls me). Not to tug my own leash here, but I’m kind of a catch. I’m 99.9% potty trained (probably 100% by the time you finish reading this), and I’m such a good girl that my foster mom gives me full run of the house when she’s gone. A crate is fine too, I don’t really care!  You see, I love to snooze, and it doesn’t much matter to me if I snooze on the couch or in a cozy kennel.  I really love sleeping in my foster moms bed at night - I love belly rubs and getting tucked in tight under the blankies, and waking up the humans with gentle kisses in the morning. I have great manners (must be my charming Southern upbringing) and I wouldn’t dream of jumping on people or destroying things that aren’t mine. I really just love being around my humans, and getting spoiled and loved on like the princess I am.

I walk nice on a leash, although I’m not crazy about this winter thing — I think when it’s warmer out, I’d definitely like some longer walks, though! Also, I’m a pretty quiet girl, although I do let you know if I hear someone at the door. You’re welcome :)
 
I’m not the most photogenic dog…my foster mom says I’m WAYYY cuter in person. I have a floofy little tail, and the best freckles on my big fox ears. I have something called a “cherry eye,” which I need surgery for, but it’s not really a big deal! I also have something called heartworm, which I’m currently being treated for. But don’t worry, it’s not contagious and the treatment is a piece of cake! I mostly just get to be extra lazy for a few months and eat “pills” stuffed in “cheese” … which I love.

If you love doggy snuggles and have room in your home and heart for me, please fill out an application today!

Yelena weighs 15lbs and is from Texas.  

One big thing you should know is they are heartworm positive - but please don’t let that scare you away from adopting them! After they undergo treatment for their condition they will be completely healthy again, and heartworm is not a contagious disease.

Because they need treatment, they are available exclusively through Ruff Start’s Foster to Adopt (FTA) program. Click here to learn more about this program.

They will get heartworm treatment at one of Ruff Start’s partner veterinary clinics in St. Cloud, so their foster will need to be comfortable getting them to and from the appointments. Treatment will consist of three injections: the first will be roughly 30 days after they enter rescue. Then, the second and third injections will happen 30 days after the first. When they are undergoing treatment, they should be on activity ‘restrictions’ which just means they should relax in their crate or cuddle with you.   Click here to learn more about heartworm disease, which is transmitted by mosquitoes. If you are interested in getting to know this animal better, please fill out an adoption application. An adoption application is the best way to show your interest in an animal and is not a binding contract.

To learn more about Ruff Start’s adoption process and the care our foster animals receive, please visit our How to Adopt page.

If you'd like to donate towards this pet's care, you can donate to our Animal Care Fund. Our Animal Care Fund supports the medical and veterinary needs for all Ruff Start Rescue animals. You'll be able to enter this pet's name on the second page of the donation form.