< View all for Adoption

Bells

Labrador Retriever / Shepherd / Mixed (short coat)

Details about Bells

  • ID D221230
  • Adoption Fee: $425
  • Breed: Labrador Retriever / Shepherd / Mixed (short coat)
  • Gender: Female
  • Coat Length: Short
  • Current Weight: 35.0 lb.
  • Estimated Birthdate: 3/1/2022

Bells's Compatibility Attributes

  • Good with Dogs: Yes
  • Good with Kids: Yes
  • Good with Adults: All

Bells's Personality and Behavioral Qualities

  • Housetrained/Littertrained: Yes
  • Obedience Trained: Needs Training
  • Likes to Vocalize: Some
  • Energy Level: Moderate
  • Cratetrained: Yes
  • Leashtrained: Yes
  • Reaction to New People: Friendly
Other Traits:
    Playful, Affectionate, Eager to Please, Gentle, Goofy, Plays with Toys

Hi! I'm Bells! I am a sweet girl that is looking for a family to call my own.  I need a family that will be patient with me while I come out of my shell and learn that humans can be kind and provide so much love.  
I came from a reservation in northern Minnesota.  My previous home didn't take very good care of me so I was found pretty skinny after not being fed for a few weeks.  I am learning that my foster family will always have food in their home for me. In the short time I have been in my fosters home, I have learned to take treats nice and no longer scarf down my food.  I have even learned to take treats nice from my 3 year old human sibling!  I do get concerned that other dogs may steal my food so feeding me separately in my crate is important as I continue to trust everyone in the home.  Occasionally, I try to counter surf for scraps when the humans aren't looking but get down right away when they tell me too.  I never try and grab food if they are eating in front of me.   
I really enjoy going on walks and exploring the outdoors.  I walk nicely on a leash with no pulling.  Sometimes I like to stop and sniff the grass and my foster mom has to give me a tug to remind me that we need to keep going.  My foster mom thinks I would be adapt to being a great running partner someday or just simply a walking partner. 
I really like to be with my people but have been working on crate training.  I spend some quiet time in there each morning after breakfast and have been doing well.  At night, I sleep quietly in my crate with no issues.  I have had no accidents since coming to my new home.  As long as I am taken out after being in my crate, my foster family trusts me to roam the house with no accidents.   
I currently live with two kids (3yo and 1.5 yo) and am very gentle with them.  I also have some fur siblings that have been slowly introduced to me.  I recently attneding my first adoption event and did well meeting strangers of all kinds and other dogs on leash.  I am just learning how to play with toys.  I am a very low maintenance dog that just wants to nap, eat, and be around my people. 
I would love to meet you!
 

Bells was surrendered to one of our Northern Minnesota Reservation partners. If you are interested in getting to know this animal better, please fill out an adoption application. An adoption application is the best way to show your interest in an animal and is not a binding contract.

To learn more about Ruff Start’s adoption process and the care our foster animals receive, please visit our How to Adopt page.

If you'd like to donate towards this pet's care, you can donate to our Animal Care Fund. Our Animal Care Fund supports the medical and veterinary needs for all Ruff Start Rescue animals. You'll be able to enter this pet's name on the second page of the donation form.