< View all Dogs & Puppies for Adoption

Vino *Arriving 12/4*

Shih Tzu / Yorkshire Terrier Yorkie / Mixed (medium coat)

Details about Vino *Arriving 12/4*

  • ID D211631
  • Available for Adoption
  • Species: Dog
  • Gender: Male
  • Estimated Birthdate: 11/17/2013
  • Breed: Shih Tzu / Yorkshire Terrier Yorkie / Mixed (medium coat)
  • Owner Experience Needed: None
  • Good with Dogs: Yes
  • Good with Cats: Yes
  • Good with Adults: All
  • Adoption Fee: $425

More about Vino *Arriving 12/4*

  • Primary Color(s): Tan/Yellow/Fawn with Black
  • Coat Length: Medium
  • Housetrained/Littertrained: Yes
  • Reaction to New People: Friendly
  • Energy Level: Low
  • Obedience Training: Needs Training

Hi, my name is Vino and I came from Texas, actually I'm still there! I'll be coming to Minnestoa really soon though, December 4th to be exact. One big thing about me you should know is that I’m heartworm positive - but please don’t let that scare you away from adopting me! After I undergo treatment for my condition, I will be completely healthy again, and heartworm is not a contagious disease. Because I need treatment, I am available exclusively through Ruff Start’s foster-to-adopt program. You can learn more about that program by visiting www.ruffstartrescue.org/adopt/fostering-to-adopt-available-animals/ .

I was picked up as a stray and brought to a shelter in Texas not too long ago. I'm sure if you scroll through my pictures, you'll see the state I was picked up in. Let's just say, it wasn't great! I must have been on my own for quite a while, because I came in totally matted. It is really painful, but now that I've been groomed, I feel SO much better, and now everyone is able to see how handsome I am! I live in a foster home right now with older children, dogs of all sizes, and cats. I do well with the other dogs in the home, and I mostly just ignore the cats. While I do great with the older children in the home, I don't think I'd do well in a home with younger/smaller children. See, I think outstretched hands mean food, so I may not be gentle trying to get treats out of them. My eyesight isn't great, so even if the hand is empty, I may still try to get snacks from it. What can I say... I love treats! I'm mostly potty trained, so a belly band helps a lot, and a consistent schedule. Mostly if I can't get outside I'll use the potty pads in the home! My foster mom says I'm a sweet boy who loves to cuddle and lounge. 

I will be getting my heartworm treatment at one of Ruff Start’s partner veterinary clinics in St. Cloud, so my foster will need to be comfortable getting me there for my appointments. My treatment will consist of three injections: the first will be roughly 30 days after I enter rescue. Then, the second and third injections will happen 30 days after the first.

When I am undergoing my treatment, I should be on ‘restrictions’ which just means I should spend time relaxing in my crate or cuddling with you. Also, when we go on walks, I should always be kept on a leash so I don’t over-exert myself!

To learn more about heartworm disease, which is transmitted by mosquitoes, please visit the following link: https://www.heartwormsociety.org/pet-owner-resources/heartworm-basics .

To apply for this animal via our foster-to-adopt program, please submit an adoption application: www.ruffstartrescue.org/adopt/adoption-application/ .