< View all Dogs & Puppies for Adoption

Bart *Arriving 12/4*

Chihuahua / Terrier / Mixed (short coat)

Details about Bart *Arriving 12/4*

  • ID D211628
  • Available for Adoption
  • Species: Dog
  • Gender: Male
  • Estimated Birthdate: 11/16/2018
  • Breed: Chihuahua / Terrier / Mixed (short coat)
  • Owner Experience Needed: None
  • Good with Dogs: Yes
  • Good with Adults: All
  • Adoption Fee: $425

More about Bart *Arriving 12/4*

  • Primary Color(s): White with Brown or Chocolate
  • Coat Length: Short
  • Housetrained/Littertrained: No
  • Reaction to New People: Friendly
  • Energy Level: Moderate
  • Obedience Training: Needs Training

Hi, my name is Bart and I came from Texas. Actually, I'm still there! I'm coming to Minnesota really soon though... December 4th to be exact! I was brought into rescue after the only family I knew passed on. I was really sad, and I've been slowing adjusting to my new life. While I still miss my old owner, I am looking forward for a new family to call my own. I live in a foster home now, and meeting lots of new people and animals. I do really great with other dogs of all sizes, and kids of all ages! While I'm great during playtimes/hang outs with other dogs, I do have a bit of a guarding issue. I am pretty protective over things like toys, food, and even my foster. This is something I'll need to work on if there are other dogs in the home. I just need to learn that there is MORE than enough love, food, and toys to go around. Right now, I'm just afraid there isn't enough to share. I promise I will work on it! I am also currently working on my potty training, and getting better as days go on and I get use to the schedule. It's only a few accidents here and there, but nothing a belly band won't fix with time! Now on to my "likes".. well, I LOVE doggy chews. They are great when I'm in my kennel while you're away so I can stay busy and enjoy it in peace away from the other pups. I do pretty good in my crate when my foster family is away, but will cry for the first couple days. I convinced my foster mom to let me sleep in bed with her, or in the kennel in her room, and I much prefer that! I'm looking for a patient family who will allow me to adjust to my new life.

 

One big thing about me you should know is that I’m heartworm positive - but please don’t let that scare you away from adopting me! After I undergo treatment for my condition I will be completely healthy again, and heartworm is not a contagious disease.

Because I need treatment, I am available exclusively through Ruff Start’s foster-to-adopt program. You can learn more about that program by visiting www.ruffstartrescue.org/adopt/fostering-to-adopt-available-animals/.

 

I will be getting my heartworm treatment at one of Ruff Start’s partner veterinary clinics in St. Cloud, so my foster will need to be comfortable getting me there for my appointments. My treatment will consist of three injections: the first will be roughly 30 days after I enter rescue. Then, the second and third injections will happen 30 days after the first.

 

When I am undergoing my treatment, I should be on ‘restrictions’ which just means I should spend time relaxing in my crate or cuddling with you. Also, when we go on walks, I should always be kept on a leash so I don’t over-exert myself!

 

To learn more about heartworm disease, which is transmitted by mosquitoes, please visit the following link: https://www.heartwormsociety.org/pet-owner-resources/heartworm-basics.

 

To apply for this animal via our foster-to-adopt program, please submit an adoption application: www.ruffstartrescue.org/adopt/adoption-application/.