< View all Dogs & Puppies for Adoption

Monster

Australian Cattle Dog/Blue Heeler / Canaan Dog / Mixed

Details about Monster

  • ID D211350
  • Available for Adoption
  • Species: Dog
  • Gender: Male
  • Estimated Birthdate: 3/21/2020
  • Breed: Australian Cattle Dog/Blue Heeler / Canaan Dog / Mixed
  • Good with Dogs: Yes
  • Good with Adults: All
  • Adoption Fee: $425

More about Monster

  • Primary Color(s): Black with White
  • Housetrained/Littertrained: Yes
  • Reaction to New People: Cautious
  • Energy Level: Moderate
  • Yard Required: No
  • Fence: Not Required
  • Obedience Training: Has Basic Training

Hi, my name is Monster and I came from an Out of State Transfer - Texas. I currently weigh 38 lbs.

Hello, my name is Monster, but the little human I live with lovingly calls me Batty Monster; apparently my ears got me this name.  I got out of a sticky situation……  I was in a high kill shelter where many do not make it out, if you know what I mean.  Ruff Start saw my mug shot and picked me, a dog that didn’t stand out.  If I wasn’t picked by them, we wouldn’t be talking right now.  See, I was just a stray that people would throw things at instead of to me.  Prior to rescue, I didn’t know what a home with nice people and dogs were.  But that was my past, let’s talk about my current situation and future.

Right now, I’m a little unsure of things still, but I’m willing to learn about them and I’m eager to please.  When I first meet you, it takes me a short time to figure you out.  But once I know you are cool with dogs, I love getting attention.  I currently live with a man, woman and a 7-year-old human (which I really like and want to sleep with) and I will randomly walk by them hoping for a pet, but if I don’t get one, I’ll give them a quick kiss.  My foster mom is always putting her hand in my food, hand feeding treats, and taking away my bones-and gives them back, and I don’t mind any of it (If she wants it more than me, she can have it).  I also live with an old lab and a quirky terrier.  I don’t mind other dogs at all, but I’m just getting used to the idea of “nice” dogs being my friends, so it takes me a little bit to figure them out.  When they aren’t looking, I’ll lay right next to them on their dog bed.  I’m starting to understand dog play and when I see other dogs play, I get excited and I join in.  I listen to dog cues really well.  The old dog doesn’t ever want to play and he’ll growl at me, I get it.  But the terrier, we play for hours.  I’m in the middle of my heartworm treatment, so my foster mom is always policing us and trying to keep me calm (activity restrictions).  
Toys.  Like I said, I’m not used to having things thrown to me, so I’m slowly getting used to the idea that I can play with toys and not get in trouble.  I have a few favorites that I take out to play with and that darn Terrier is constantly taking it from me and trying to get me to play tug of war.  My foster mom will throw toys for me and fetch them herself to try to teach me.  I have fun hopping along and watching her fetch.  I have met a cat; those things to begin with are scary, but then I get curious as to what they are.  In the right situation and with slow introductions, I might let one be a part of my pack.  I don’t like being in my kennel, but when I have to go into it I will.  When I’m in it I don’t make a sound.  Actually, I haven’t barked yet, even when the crazies in the house are barking at something outside.  I also have just gone to the bathroom outside, so I guess I’m potty trained.  Right now, I’m figuring out this dog food thing, so I’m a little picky when it comes to eating, but each day I’m getting better at it.  When I get excited my tail wags and I hop around like a bunny for a few seconds, then I realize everybody is looking at me, so I just sit and wait for the next thing.  I walk great on a leash, but I do walk close to my human so they can protect me until I figure everything out.  Because everything is so new, I really do need a dog friend in the house to help me come into my own.  Each day I’m learning new things and figuring out what I like and watching a dog sibling will help me greatly.  I lived in a house once without another dog and I didn’t like it at all.  
If you want to take a chance with me and give me some time to blossom, I know I’m going to turn into a great companion because I’m smart, I try hard to do the right thing and I want to be a part of a family. 

One big thing about me you should know is that I’m heartworm positive - but please don’t let that scare you away from adopting me! After I undergo treatment for my condition I will be completely healthy again, and heartworm is not a contagious disease.

Because I need treatment, I am available exclusively through Ruff Start’s foster-to-adopt program. You can learn more about that program by visiting www.ruffstartrescue.org/adopt/fostering-to-adopt-available-animals/ .

I will be getting my heartworm treatment at one of Ruff Start’s partner veterinary clinics in St. Cloud, so my foster will need to be comfortable getting me there for my appointments. My treatment will consist of three injections: the first will be roughly 30 days after I enter rescue. Then, the second and third injections will happen 30 days after the first.

When I am undergoing my treatment, I should be on ‘restrictions’, which just means I should spend time relaxing in my crate or cuddling with you. Also, when we go on walks, I should always be kept on a leash so I don’t over-exert myself!

To learn more about heartworm disease, which is transmitted by mosquitoes, please visit the following link: https://www.heartwormsociety.org/pet-owner-resources/heartworm-basics

To apply for this animal via our foster-to-adopt program, please submit an adoption application: www.ruffstartrescue.org/adopt/adoption-application/ .