< View all Dogs & Puppies for Adoption

Gary

Chihuahua / Mixed (short coat)

Details about Gary

  • ID D211244
  • Available for Adoption
  • Species: Dog
  • Gender: Male
  • Estimated Birthdate: 11/18/2015
  • Breed: Chihuahua / Mixed (short coat)
  • Owner Experience Needed: None
  • Good with Dogs: Yes
  • Good with Cats: Yes
  • Good with Adults: All
  • Adoption Fee: $400

More about Gary

  • Primary Color(s): White with Black
  • Coat Length: Short
  • Grooming Needs: Moderate
  • Housetrained/Littertrained: Yes
  • Reaction to New People: Cautious
  • Energy Level: Moderate
  • Obedience Training: Needs Training

Name:  Gary
Date of Birth:  11/18/2015
Breed:  Chihuahua Mix
Gender:  Male
Weight: 9  lbs

Dog Friendly:  Yes
Cat Friendly:  Yes
Kid Friendly:  With older children only
House Trained:  Mostly!
Crate Trained:  Yes

Energy Level:  Low
History:  Texas Shelter
Adoption Fee:  $400.00

Hi there, friend! I’m Gary and I’m an adoptable pooch through Ruff Start Rescue. One big thing about me you should know is that I’m heartworm positive - but please don’t let that scare you away from adopting me! After I undergo treatment for my condition, I will be completely healthy again, and heartworm is not a contagious disease. A couple months ago, I sadly lost my dad in a motorcycle accident. I ended up at an animal shelter outside of Houston, Texas, hoping I could make it out and find a family to make me their own. I was lucky enough to find a fabulous foster in Texas before I made the trip up to Minnesota. I’ve lived with LOTS of dogs in the past, and even live with a few now, both big and small. I get along great with all of them! Personally, I think I would do best in a home with another dog to show me the ropes. See, I’m pretty skittish and shy when I first meet people. When I got to my foster mom’s house, she gave me space and time to come to her on my own. When I saw how excited all the other pups in the home got when they saw her, and how they always went to her for love and pets, I realized “hey, she can’t be too bad!”. While still cautious, I put on my brave face and came up to her to get pets and just sit right next to her. Now, we’re pretty good buds, and I feel more and more comfortable with her every day. Because I’m so skittish at first with fast movements and loud noises, a home with younger kids just doesn’t sound like my cup of tea. I did recently spend the weekend with an older child (10 years) and she was very respectful, so I really liked her! I even crawled up on her lap for pets. I met a cat too! She hissed at me and backed up and gave her space. I think I would do totally fine if I have a kitty friend in my new home. Hopefully they like me a little better than the one that I met ;) What else.. Well, I’m mostly potty trained, but do mark occasionally. I think once I’m neutered, that will help a ton, but in the meantime my foster mom uses a fancy little belly band when she can’t keep an eye on me. I do really great when my foster mom goes to work too! I do great in a crate, and a few times she’s left me in my own little gated off area, and I did great with that too. I love being outside! I have a big fenced in area I can run around in, and boy can I explore!  I like to follow the other dogs around and see what they’re checking out too. I’m OH so sweet, and love to be close to you, even if I’m a little nervous at first. If you stop petting me, I WILL nudge the heck out of your hand… keep petting me lady! I do bark if I'm startled, and in my crate sometimes if I want to let you know that I want to come out. I would probably do best in a home without shared walls though.

Boy.. I’ve been through a lot in my two years on earth, and I’m really hoping I can find my forever family soon. I can’t wait to blossom in my new home.. Is that with you?!

Because I need treatment, I am available only through Ruff Start’s foster-to-adopt program. You can learn more about that program by visiting  www.ruffstartrescue.org/adopt/fostering-to-adopt-available-animals/ .

I will get my heartworm treatment at one of Ruff Start’s partner veterinary clinics in St. Cloud, so my foster will need to be comfortable getting me there for my appointments. My treatment will comprise three injections: the first will be roughly 30 days after I enter rescue. Then, the second and third injections will happen 30 days after the first.

When I am undergoing my treatment, I should be on ‘restrictions’, which just means I should relax in my crate or cuddle with you. Also, when we go on walks, I should always be kept on a leash so I don’t over-exert myself!