< View all Dogs & Puppies for Adoption

Dookie

Pit Bull Terrier / Labrador Retriever / Mixed

Details about Dookie

  • ID D210564
  • Available for Adoption
  • Species: Dog
  • Gender: Male
  • Estimated Birthdate: 4/7/2019
  • Breed: Pit Bull Terrier / Labrador Retriever / Mixed
  • Owner Experience Needed: Breed
  • Good with Dogs: No
  • Good with Cats: No
  • Good with Adults: All
  • Adoption Fee: $200

More about Dookie

  • Primary Color(s): Tan
  • Housetrained/Littertrained: No
  • Reaction to New People: Friendly
  • Energy Level: Moderate
  • Yard Required: Yes
  • Fence: Any Type
  • Obedience Training: Needs Training

Name: Dookie
Date of Birth: 04/07/2019
Gender: Male
Breed: Pit Bull Terrier/Labrador Retriever Mix
Weight: 40 lbs

Dog Friendly: No - but working on slow intros on leash
Cat Friendly: No
Kid Friendly: With older children only
House Trained: Not yet - Working on it!
Crate Trained: Yes

Energy Level: Moderate
History: Unclaimed Stray
Adoption Fee: $200.00

I was found on the side of the road by a kind lady. The lady's niece worked with my now foster. She called her to let her know I was found and needed a place to stay. My now foster told her coworker, who is only 18, "I can meet you in 30 minutes.”  When my foster saw me, I was thin, had open sores, and missing my front leg below the wrist. Despite all this, I was wagging my tail. When I got in the vehicle, I turned a couple circles in the front seat and let out the "sigh." My foster had always heard of the "sigh"... where a rescue knows they are safe, but has only seen it a few times, this time was definite. I knew I was safe.  

I had many scars on me and was reactive towards dogs. I can't tell them where I came from, but with those couple pieces of the puzzle, they can almost determine it wasn't a good situation.   I got home and found a rope toy in the yard and started in on playing with that right away!!! And, lucky for me, the rescue got me on the road to healthy. Vaccines, food (I have put on some much needed weight), love, kisses, and a treatment plan. 

I seemed as if I didn't know I was missing part of my leg. It wasn't from a surgery, maybe a trap? It was best for me to have a correct and proper amputation, this was done and it hasn't deterred me in any way. 

 
Despite all my fosters’ can imagine I've been through, I LOVE people!! I love to lay by them, crawl on them, look at them, and snuggle as close to them as I can.  I am working on taking treats nice and a couple other things, but I am so thankful I was found and can sleep without worries.  I also LOVE car rides and rarely bark. I'm kennel trained and sleep in my kennel or by my human. I am working on potty training so watch for me to go by the door or spinnies to go out. I do wear a belly band if I am out of my kennel at night and am not able to let you know I need to go potty. My last potty time is about 9:30 pm to get all my business taken care of.  
 
I am also getting slow intros to other dogs. I am very curious about them and have gotten better at giving them supervised space while on my leash. Since I am a tripod, a home with older children would be best since I get a little off balance sometimes.
 
A big yard or active home with a fence would be ideal for me. Right now I am on a med for allergies that I take every day and a special shampoo for a bath every few days for skin allergies.
 
If you are interested in getting to know me better, please fill out an adoption application at www.ruffstartrescue.org/adopt/adoption-application. An adoption application is the best way to show your interest in an animal and is not a binding contract.
 
To learn more about Ruff Start’s adoption process and the care our foster animals receive, please visit our How to Adopt page: www.ruffstartrescue.org/adopt/