< View all Dogs & Puppies for Adoption

Karen

Catahoula Leopard Dog / Labrador Retriever / Mixed

Details about Karen

  • ID D210477
  • Available for Adoption
  • Species: Dog
  • Gender: Female
  • Estimated Birthdate: 3/19/2018
  • Breed: Catahoula Leopard Dog / Labrador Retriever / Mixed
  • Good with Dogs: No
  • Good with Cats: No
  • Good with Adults: All
  • Adoption Fee: $200

More about Karen

  • Primary Color(s): Tan/Yellow/Fawn with White
  • Housetrained/Littertrained: Yes
  • Reaction to New People: Friendly
  • Energy Level: High
  • Yard Required: Yes
  • Fence: Any Type
  • Obedience Training: Has Basic Training

Name: Karen/ Kiki
Date of Birth: 03/19/2018
Gender: Female
Breed: Catahoula Leopard Dog/Labrador Retriever Mix
Weight: 45 lbs

Dog Friendly: No
Cat Friendly: No
Kid Friendly: Yes
House Trained: Yes
Crate Trained: Yes

Energy Level: High
History: Out of State Transfer - Texas
Adoption Fee: $200.00

Hi, how’s it going? I’m Karen but my foster family calls me Kiki or Keeks because I am definitely not a Karen!

My beginnings in rescue are a bit sad as I was pregnant, and then Texas had some really cold weather and none of my babies made it. To add to that, I have a hard time seeing out of one of my eyes. But don’t let any of that fool you--I am a happy, excited, smart and playful gal!

While I LOVE humans(every new person that comes in the house is required to give me belly scratches), I'm not really a fan of other animals. I would much prefer to be the only pet. Because I am just so excited to be in the rescue and loving life, I do sometimes forget that it’s not polite to jump so I may not be the best match for a family with small kids. But my foster family is working with me to learn to keep all four paws on the floor. What I do know how to do is ‘sit’ and I walk pretty well on a leash.

I am good in my crate and I don't seem to show any signs of anxiety when left alone. My foster family have gradually given me more time in the den by myself and I have gone up to 8 hours by myself! As long as I have my toys and bones, I am happy and leave their things alone. I love bones, puzzle feeders and ANYTHING with a squeaker!

When I am not in my crate, I like to look out the window and do my rounds on squirrel patrol and one of my favorite things to do is play fetch with my people. My foster parents are also trying to teach me the benefits of hopping up on the couch next to them so that I can get some good belly scratches and pets! As you can see in some of my pictures, I sometimes find myself in some unique positions as I relax. My foster parents say I sit on the couch like a human with my little belly protruding and I also prefer to lay spatchcock-like on the floor. Maybe I’m part bird...I do ‘fly’ through the backyard!

I also have quite a bit of energy so a home with an active family and/or a backyard where I can run off my zoomies would be ideal. I also like to burn off mental energy by embracing my hunting dog roots and "searching" the room for hidden kibble.

I am very much looking forward to a family and place to call my permanent home! If this sounds like your family and you’d like to meet me please fill out an application so my foster family can bring me to meet you!

Hugs and wet kisses, Karen (aka Kiki)

If you are interested in getting to know me better, please fill out an adoption application at www.ruffstartrescue.org/adopt/adoption-application . An adoption application is the best way to show your interest in an animal and is not a binding contract.

To learn more about Ruff Start’s adoption process and the care our foster animals receive, please visit our How to Adopt page: www.ruffstartrescue.org/adopt/