< View all Dogs & Puppies for Adoption

Keelan

Husky / Mixed (long coat)

Details about Keelan

  • ID D210391
  • Available for Adoption
  • Species: Dog
  • Gender: Female
  • Estimated Birthdate: 9/3/2019
  • Breed: Husky / Mixed (long coat)
  • Good with Dogs: Yes
  • Good with Adults: Women Only
  • Adoption Fee: $425

Hi, my name Keelan but my foster family calls me Kiki. I am a three-year-old, 39-pound Husky crossed with (we think) Border Collie. I was found in Texas. When I made it to MN, my caretakers discovered I have some anxiety issues. I found a great home, but unfortunately could not overcome my increasing stress – Covid lockdown didn’t help, and without the socialization I needed, I became even more afraid of the world.

I am with a new foster family now though, and life is looking up. I am learning that cats are not mine to chase- my foster mom says I am a very quick learner. *big smiles* I also seem to have gotten over the hump on house training, no accidents for three weeks now! (Access to a fenced yard has made all the difference!)

I am still working on adjusting to the male member of the household, it frightens me when he comes home, though by the end of the night I’m taking treats and getting pets, I seem to regress the next day. I may do best in a home with a woman only otherwise a very patient man. I use a Thundershirt when my foster parents leave, and during storms. Right now, I am on anxiety medication, but I am working on reducing my need and hope to be weaned down to a very small dose, if any at all, over time. I seem to be learning that the wind is normal, and I don’t have to be scared of it; though loud noises and sudden movements (inside or out) still frighten me.

The best home I can imagine would be one where I have a fenced yard. I’m on the shorter side, so a normal five-to-six-foot fence would do just swell. A human companion who recognizes my fear and anxiety, one committed to helping me adjust. I am comfortable with kids, but haven’t lived with them, so I’m not sure about their energy level. Females are my preferred gender, but I am able and willing to adjust to a man if he understands my needs. I will likely do best as an only dog in the home. I will probably need at least one visit at my foster parents, and one at a neutral meeting place, as I am taking life very slow right now, and will need time to adjust.

If you feel your life isn’t complete without me, please fill out an application, and we can start the process!!

Keelan weighs 39 lbs and is from Texas. If you are interested in getting to know this animal better, please fill out an adoption application. An adoption application is the best way to show your interest in an animal and is not a binding contract.

To learn more about Ruff Start’s adoption process and the care our foster animals receive, please visit our How to Adopt page.

If you'd like to donate towards this pet's care, you can donate to our Animal Care Fund. Our Animal Care Fund supports the medical and veterinary needs for all Ruff Start Rescue animals. You'll be able to enter this pet's name on the second page of the donation form.