< View all Dogs & Puppies for Adoption

Hazel

American Staffordshire Terrier / Mixed (short coat)

Details about Hazel

  • ID D200438
  • Available for Adoption
  • Species: Dog
  • Gender: Female
  • Estimated Birthdate: 3/5/2020
  • Breed: American Staffordshire Terrier / Mixed (short coat)
  • Good with Dogs: Yes
  • Good with Cats: No
  • Good with Adults: All
  • Adoption Fee: $400

More about Hazel

  • Primary Color(s): Tan
  • Coat Length: Short
  • Shedding: Moderate
  • Grooming Needs: Low
  • Housetrained/Littertrained: Yes
  • Reaction to New People: Friendly
  • Energy Level: Moderate
  • Yard Required: Yes
  • Obedience Training: Needs Training

Name: Hazel 
Date of Birth: 3/5/2020
Gender: Female 
Breed: American Staffordshire Terrier 
Weight: 55 Pounds 

Dog Friendly: With dogs larger than me
Cat Friendly: No
Kid Friendly: With older children only
House Trained: Yes
Crate Trained: Yes

Energy Level: Moderate 
History: Out of State Transfer - Texas
Adoption Fee: $400.00

Looking for a goofy, smart, food motivated, people-loving, snuggly meatball head!!? It’s me …. I’m her!!! Hi, my name is Hazel Mae! I am a 1.5-year-old, 55lb Pittie mix that loves to play and exercise as much as I love curling up under a blankie with my person. I also like food, treats, sticks, my bones, treats, my toys, chasing squirrels, treats, sometimes digging, running in my yard …. Did I mention treats?! I love me some physical and mental stimulation…. a tired dog is a happy dog! So, bring on the tricks for treats.

I do admit, I may need a bit more training…. I get overly excited when I see ANY person and sometimes cannot compose myself… I get a bit jumpy, but it’s just because I gotta kiss them! After about 5 minutes, I do calm down and will snuggle nicely. My mom (now foster mom) and I have been working with the cinch leash on a few things like not pulling on our walks and not jumping when people come over. I have also been introduced to muzzle training. I’m hoping someday I can go back to the dog park to socialize more or even just chill with the other dogs at a brewery.

I have a strong prey drive and negative reactions to anxieties in others. This is why my current mom and dad cannot keep me. I’m at the age where I have begun to establish my dominance, and I no longer get along with my older (smaller) brother. They all love me so much and are heartbroken that circumstances have changed, but I understand and know they have to do what’s best for myself and my brother. That being said, I do require a fenced-in yard and cannot live with other pets smaller than myself or children under 10 years of age.

Also, I’m kind of a dummy and I forget my size, so I will knock your small child over. I am also a jumper, so I need a watchful eye if adopted out to a home with the standard 4.5 ft fencing. I am also kennel trained, and it’s actually my ‘safe place’ when I’m home alone or scared during a thunderstorm. That’s not to say that someday I couldn’t roam free, but I’m still sort of in the ‘puppy’ stage and like to be a stinker. I think I would do very well with other dogs larger than myself and equally playful, I play a bit on the rougher side. I would absolutely LOVE a home with teenagers (because they love to play and be goofy too) and/or a family that will take me for walks, runs, hikes, etc. I love my people.

If you are interested in getting to know me better, please fill out an adoption application at www.ruffstartrescue.org/adopt/adoption-application. An adoption application is the best way to show your interest in an animal and is not a binding contract.

To learn more about Ruff Start’s adoption process and the care our foster animals receive, please visit our How to Adopt page: www.ruffstartrescue.org/adopt/